What Do You Struggle with to Keep Healthy?

When faced with the task of cooking a meal, what’s your initial reaction?

  • Excitement
  • Neutral — it’s all good, just let me get to it
  • Annoyed
  • Uncertain

Or do you go out for dinner or get takeout instead of cooking at all?

Do you eat healthy? More importantly do you want to eat healthy?

If you answered yes to both questions, but find cooking challenging, annoying, or just plain impossible to organize, keep with me for a bit because I need your help.

Whatever your health and fitness goals may be, the single most important thing you can do besides regular activity, is to eat well.

Why am I asking you these questions?

In March of this year I launched my site AllAboutMealPlanning.com.

At first the approach was general (hence the ‘All About’), however my site has become more of a way to teach healthy bulk meal planning and cooking to help you attain your health and fitness goals.

One of my major goals with my site is to show the reader that cooking and meal planning is easy to do.

I’ve always cooked simply, from scratch and in bulk to save time and money, and to reduce my day-to-day stress. When I get home from work or whatever, I want to have food prepared in my fridge that I can re-heat and enjoy.

Cooked meals and food in my fridge

Cooked meals and food in my fridge

Is that something that you  would also enjoy?

If you happen to look through my previous posts on this blog you’ll notice a trend: I’ve written about fitness, training, mindset, self-esteem, nutrition, and eating.

One of my passions in life (boarding on a need) is leading a healthy and active lifestyle, going against the norm, having the time to eat well, to move, exercise, have personal time, and to focus on what matters most in my own life — like quality time with my partner, and playtime with my dog, Buster.

Tuckered out after playtime!

Tuckered out after playtime!

A few nights ago just before going to bed I had a major ‘A-Ha!’ moment. I’ve been working on how to combine my meal planning site and blog into a single site — one with a very clear niche and differentiation from all the other health and wellness sites out there.

While not the final site description, here’s what I came up with:

‘When you eat healthy and nourish your body you feel good. Feeling good makes it easier to be physically active every day, to do some form of movement that you enjoy and is fun for you. Taking care of your body gives you the vitality to be more, to accomplish more, and to focus on what matters most in your life.’

That’s the beginning of a manifesto…

I think I have the ideas to write a Meal Planning Manifesto — to start a radical movement that teaches people how to cook and eat healthy. The sad truth is that someone needs to be a leader to reverse the obesity epidemic.

I’m inspired by the work Jamie Oliver has done to help teach kids how to eat well with his Kitchen Garden Project. This is the best place to start teaching healthy eating, when kids are kids… not when they are adults, out of shape, over weight and frustrated.

Why not teach people how easy it can be to prepare healthy meals at home, in bulk, instead of consuming fast foods and processed food, and getting sicker and fatter.

There has to be an easy way to break through to the general public that has been hypnotized by fast food companies lying to them, saying that their foods and drinks are safe and healthy.

And it’s not your fault! If you knew what some of the major food companies do to determine how to create junk food addictions, you might stand up and start a bloody revolution. It’s disgusting!

What people are eating is slowly killing them and the simple art of cooking at home needs to be re-introduced.

Balance needs to be re-introduced. You CAN have your cake and eat it too, but your body needs you to treat it well 90% of the time.

Finally! This is something much bigger than me, and it scares the shit of me, but I know I can do this.

I want to show people how easy it can be to plan and prepare nutritious and tasty meals in bulk that will improve your health — with the side effect of healthy weight-loss!

It means a lot to me to show others how easy it is to cook and how easy it is to eat healthy.

We all eat cake or a fast food burger once in a while, but when we eat healthy, home-cooked, non-processed food 90% of the time we will feel and look better.

What do you need to accomplish this ‘radical act’ of eating real, healthy, home-made food?

When you read a cookbook or an online recipe, what’s missing for you? What’s daunting?

When you go to the grocery store, where do you begin? Do you know what to buy, how to select quality produce and meat?

When you think, ‘I should really exercise’, what’s your plan to make that happen? You probably know that you need to both eat well and exercise for optimal health, but how do you keep your body physically strong, to keep off excess fat, and to prolong good health?

Do you know how to cook in bulk and how to cook healthy meals?

Do you know how to choose your best eating style (how many times per day, what types of foods, intermittent fasting options, etc.) and how much to eat (portion control)?

We all need a plan that will work for us, and us alone. A health and fitness plan is personal — it needs to fit your schedule and lifestyle, from the novice to someone with more knowledge who now wants to harness new skills and jump right into the program.

Learning a new skill takes practice. But I’m here to show you step-by-step that it can be easy when you have a simple method and the tools to become skilled.

There’s more cooking (sorry for the pun) so please stay tuned and please, leave me your feedback.

Can you tell me one thing…

Question: What’s one thing you struggle with right now to keep healthy?

Please use the comments form below and I promise to get back to you with a suggestion.
Eat well to be well.
~Darren

© 2013 Darren Stehle. All Rights Reserved.

What do you think?

